AllentownSchool District

Meet the ASD Board

Audrey Mathison 

Nancy Wilt

LaTarsha Brown
Lisa A. Conover
Phoebe D. Harris
Nicholas Miller
Jennifer Lynn Ortiz
Patrick Palmer

Charles F. Thiel
Board of School Directors Composite Image

Audrey Mathison - President

Audrey Mathison was first elected to the board in 2015 and has previously served as both president and vice president. A retired educator, working with students has always been very important to her. She enjoys working together with all of the board members to improve the lives of our students through providing a high quality education. Ms. Mathison brings her expertise to the Negotiations Committee and also represents ASD on the LCTI JOC. Her advice for ASD students? “Don’t limit yourself - anything is possible!” 

Nancy Wilt - Vice President

Nancy Wilt is the current president of the ASD Board. The Wilt family is proud to be part of the Allentown School District Community, and Canary Nation. Nancy believes that it takes a village to raise a child, and is honored to have so many wonderful teachers, administrators, support staff and coaches be part of our village. In addition to the ASD board, she is a member of the Allentown School District Foundation Board, Committee Member for the Parks and Recreation Commission, Co-Chair of the Coalition of Difference Makers, Steering Committee Member for CACLV NPP, United Way Policy Steering Committee, and Canary Touchdown Booster Club. She is honored to serve on the school board and looks forward to ensuring that all students are receiving the tools necessary to be successful in their adult lives.

Lisa Conover

Lisa Conover was first elected to the board in 2017, and is a proud parent of several Dieruff graduates. She sits on the Education, Legislative and Policy Committees as well as the Safety Task Force. Lisa also represents ASD on the LCTI JOC. Her professional experience includes working as a realtor and serving as a former chamber of commerce president. She has also worked as an LCTI substitute instructor. She is full of Husky Pride but advocates strongly for all ASD students. 

Phoebe Harris

Ms. Phoebe Harris was first elected to the board in 2017. Ms. Phoebe sits on the education and policy committees, as well as the safety task force. She is also the ASD representative to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association, the City Recreation Commission, and the Allentown Public Library Board. She is very active in the community and loves attending ASD events! Being a member of the board has afforded her the great privilege of getting to know and serve the students and families of Allentown that she loves so much. 

Nick Miller

Former Vice President Nicholas Miller joined the ASD board in 2019. Mr. Miller sits on the Building, Finance and Negotiations Committees. Outside of the board, he sits on the Chamber of Commerce Ambassadors Council and Greater Lehigh Valley Realtors Government Affairs Committee. He enjoys serving the community and seeing the students of ASD succeed. Mr. Miller, an avid traveler, recently made headlines with a trip to Mt. Kilimanjaro. His goal was to summit the mountain on Christmas Day, but also raise money to upgrade the weight room equipment at Allen & Dieruff High Schools. 

Charlie Theil

Charlie Theil has served as a member of the ASD board since 2015 and serves as the chair of the Finance Committee. Mr. Theil believes that public education is the bedrock of democracy and our city is full of amazing students and families just waiting to be challenged, mentored and taught to become the best version of themselves. It is his goal that the district create strategic and tactical plans based on the needs of our students and continue to advocate to close the inequitable gaps that inhibit student success.


Jennifer Ortiz

Jennifer Ortiz joined the board in 2021 and is a parent in the district. She ran for the board because she wanted to be a part of making ASD a better place for everyone. Jennifer will sit on the Education committee. She will also represent ASD on Pennsylvania School Board Association Board and the Allentown School District Foundation Board. During her first year, she looks forward to getting to know our teachers, staff, and families and understanding their needs in order to make a positive impact on the entire community.  

LaTarsha Brown

LaTarsha Brown is one of our newest board members, elected in 2021.  LaTarsha will sit on the Policy and Equity Committees, as well as the Safety Task Force. She will also represent ASD as the liaison to the Carbon Lehigh Intermediate Unit. She is the parent of a current DHS student & graduate. LaTarsha is deeply committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion in the district. It is her goal to work together with her fellow board members to have a positive impact on ASD and make it a great place for all in our community. 

Patrick Palmer

Mr. Patrick Palmer was appointed to the board in January 2022 to fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Linda Vega. Patrick is a proud graduate of William Allen High School. Mr. Palmer will sit on the legislative committee and represent ASD on the city’s Human Relations Commission. He is looking forward to working with the other board members to create an equitable and transparent school district for all. His advice for ASD students? “Keep your head up, no matter how hard it gets.”