AllentownSchool District

You Are the Light - March Celebration

You Are the Light - March Celebration
Posted on 03/18/2024
Congratulations to our most recent You Are The Light! recipients of the 2023-2024 school year! On Thursday, March 14, 2024, more than 50 members of our learning community were recognized for their contributions to their school and classrooms as Trendsetters, Classroom/Community Catalysts, or Quiet Heroes. Attendees were treated to fantastic performances by the Trexler Middle School Team Smooth, Central Elementary Cheer Team and Trexler Middle School Bulldog Beats. 

We also recognized two members of the Trexler Middle School Learning Community who have passed away this school year, Jacqueline Gardner and Sonja Kustafik. Both Jackie and Sonja were outstanding, passionate, loving, incredible educators who had an incredible impact on so many lives. Their families were invited to participate in this event and have left a legacy at Trexler Middle School. 

Please help us celebrate & congratulate:  

- Adrian Villaneuva, Central Elementary School  
- Marilyn Navarro, Dieruff High School  
- Lindsay Galusha, Dodd Elementary School  
- Shawn Kerbein, Jefferson Elementary School  
- Lisa Greitzer , K-6 & Secondary Newcomer Academy  
- Josiah Camacho , Mosser Elementary School  
- Nadine Ewald, Raub Middle School 
- Jimena Suero Torres, Raub Middle School  
- Arianna Rosario, Trexler Middle School 
- Danika Rausch, Union Terrace Elementary School  
- Jill Williams, William Allen High School  

These trendsetters are members of the Allentown School District’s Learning Community who utilize opportunities to create new paths for themselves, peers, colleagues, or members of the ASD community; Contribute to the development and/or improvement of programs, services, or curriculum; Foster staff and student growth, effectiveness, or professional development; Student trendsetters are people who demonstrate leadership within their schools/classroom to collaborate with administrators and staff to improve student experiences in the Allentown School District.

Classroom / Community Catalysts
- Korly Sanchez, Building 21
- Michelle Barry, Central Elementary School 
- Ashley Trimboli, Harrison Morton Middle School 
- Raxiely's Orta Luciano, Harrison Morton Middle School 
- Nanette DeRemer, Jackson Early Childhood Center
- Jesus Ozuna Suazo, K-6 Newcomer Academy 
- Callum Velazquez, Lehigh Parkway Elementary School 
- Erin Amberman, Mosser Elementary School 
- Jonathan Martinez Lopez, Ramos Elementary School 
- Jane Ammary, Ramos Elementary School 
- Leeyani Morales, Ritter Elementary School 
- Jessica Morales, Sheridan Elementary School 
- Jimmy Carter, Sheridan Elementary School 
- Megan Hoffman, South Mountain Middle School 
- Anelys Molina, Union Terrace Elementary School 
- Antonius Abouloh, Washington Elementary School 
- Jennifer Carter, William Penn (Alternative Education) 

These individuals continue to champion change in their classrooms, school, and community. Contributes to student success by closing achievement gaps, measuring progress/using assessments, implementing interventions, or student engagement. Student Classroom/Community Catalysts advocate for their peers by using their voices and talents to create change within their school communities. This may or may not be through the creation of or participation in student government, clubs, athletics, the arts, etc.

Quiet Heroes / Heroines
- Kamah Karnga, Admin Center
- Melissa Novak, Building 21 
- Logan Wilburn , Dieruff High School 
- Sincere DeJesus , Dodd Elementary School 
- Ausha Jones , Hays  Elementary School 
- Melissa Kirchner , Hays Elementary School 
- Mi'reya Primer, Jackson Early Childhood Center
- Emily Familia Montano , Jefferson Elementary School 
- Melissa Anderson, Lehigh Parkway Elementary School 
- Ariana Cruz, Muhlenberg Elementary School 
- Luz Torres, Muhlenberg Elementary School 
- Terri Begany , Ritter Elementary School 
- Anessa Jimenez , Roosevelt Elementary School 
- Somarie Astudillo , Roosevelt Elementary School 
- Jeanette Calero Quiroz , Secondary Newcomer Academy 
- Dariel Payano , South Mountain Middle School 
- Daniel Santana , Virtual Campus
- Michael Batista , Virtual Campus
- Eric Dogmanits , Washington Elementary School 
- Alba Nunez Fuentes, William Allen High School  
- Valeria Nunez Fuentes, William Allen High School 
- Tia Jones , William Penn (Alternative Education) 

These individuals might not live in the spotlight, but they are members of the Allentown School District’s Learning Community who continue to nurture those within their schools and departments. Staff Quiet Heroes develop successful partnerships and outreach to parents, businesses, or neighborhoods; provide community services or service-learning projects; display outstanding responsiveness, customer service, or customer satisfaction. Student Quiet Heroes contribute to the culture and climate of their school/community by supporting other students, staff, and families as a role model of active kindness, cooperation, and teamwork.