AllentownSchool District

ASD Science Fair Award Winners

ASD Science Fair Award Winners
Posted on 06/03/2022
For the first time since 2019 ASD was excited to host the annual district wide Science Fair! From June 1 - 3 100s of STEM related projects were on display from students in all ASD middle and high schools. 

Congratulations to all of our participants and this years winners: 

Middle School Division - 7th grade (Experimental)
1st Place: Jasmine Yacoub, HMMS
2nd Place: Lilly Yacoub, HMMS
3rd Place (tied): Peter Makhoul, HMMS & Alma Moumari, HMMS

Middle School - 8th grade (Experimental)
1 Place (tie): Brooke Boyer & Angelina Scott, SMMS
Gage Reichard, SMMS
2nd Place (3-way tie): Christopher Dwornicki, SMMS
Elliott Hernandez, SMMS & Valentina Yucra, SMMS
3rd Place (3-way tie): Emely Arias & Leanna Pallero, Raub 
Abbie Boyer, SMMS

High School Division (Experimental) 
1st Place: Owen Otto & Mark Corona, B21
2nd Place: Gregorio Soto Jr. & Jonathan Plaza, Dieruff
3rd Place (tie): Zullema Rodriguez Jimenez, Esmerli Salce
Perez & Johalishka Medina, WAHS, Karla Avenando, WAHS

Many local philanthropic organizations and businesses have contributed to the success of this event through the Allentown School District Foundation. 

Three groups of students received monetary awards from the Kiwanis Club of Allentown Northeast: 

Gregorio Soto Jr / Jonathan Plaza - Dieruff - $100 Kirk Shinsky Award
Brooke Boyer / Angelina Scott - SMMS - $100 Frederick Greenleaf Jr Award
Owen Otto / Mark Corona - B21 - Best in Show - $100 Space Frontier Award honoring Pete Conrad, astronaut from PA who flew to the moon on Apollo 12. 

Thank you to the following teachers who helped students with their projects: 

Building 21: Jim Novak, Matthew Jones, Ray Baratta
Dieruff HS: Leila Little, Geoffrey Osman, Victor Quesada, Charal Williams
Allen HS: Nicole Leskosky, Steve Denny, Michael Pacaro, Courtney Smith 
Harrison Morton MS: Michael Correll, Kelly Caflin, Jennifer Gross
Raub MS: Amy Belloff, Jeff Lucas
South Mountain MS: Carolyn Andrewejesi-White, Jacob Breyer, James Grabusky, 
Trexler MS: Jill Arington, Jaqueline Gardner