AllentownSchool District

2019 Superintendent's Awards

2019 Superintendent's Awards
Posted on 05/29/2019
The second annual Superintendent’s Awards of Excellence celebrated the accomplishments of over 300 students, staff, parents and teachers who are crucial to the success of our district. 

Emcee’s for the evening were William Allen High School Principal Mr. Shannon Mayfield and Dieruff High School Assistant Principal Mike Makhoul. 

Student entertainment was provided by: 
• Dieruff High School Band
• Dieruff JROTC (Presentation of Colors)
• Elizamaria Figeroa (National Anthem) 
• Harrison Morton Middle School Band
• Raub & Trexler Combined Theatre Group (cast of Godspell Jr.)
• William Allen Hip Hop Dance Team
• William Allen Chorale
• Union Terrace Elementary Dance Team 

Superintendent Thomas Parker and Board President Audrey Mathison welcomed the crowd and were joined on stage by other board members and members of the administrative leadership team. 

The Student Academic Excellence Award recognizes outstanding academic achievement.  These students set an example of academic performance, engagement and model school-wide expectations. Click below to expand and see Academic Excellence Awardees for each school: 
The Student Character Excellence Award recognizes outstanding character achievement.  These students are an example for others demonstrating outstanding attitude, character, work ethic and service to their school community. Click below to expand and see Character Excellence Awardees for each school: 
In addition to honored our students, the Allentown School District recognizes the importance of community and family engagement. Our teachers are critical to the success of our students, but so are parents! 

The Teacher Award of Excellence is designed to recognize outstanding achievements of an ASD teacher. There are many teachers who work very hard every day and routinely meet or exceed expectations. This award recognizes the teacher who truly stood out among their peers and within the District.
The Parent Award of Excellence is designed  to recognize a parent, guardian OR caregiver who has made significant contributions of time, service, and leadership creating a positive impact for their schools. 
ASD also values those who have dedicated a significant amount of their career to our students. Congratulations to those who will retire this year! Click below to expand and view teacher and parent winners and a list of the 2018-209 retirees!
To close out the evening, ASD recognized a number of individuals in a variety of support staff and administrative roles who help support crucial initiatives and programs within our District.

Three individual students and one teacher also received the Empowerment Award, recognizing someone who demonstrates the greatest commitment to becoming stronger and more confident and fosters that commitment in their own lives, or in the lives of others in their classroom, their school and/or in their communities. They exhibit extraordinary self-determination. Below is the full list of all staff and specialty awardees: 


Staff Excellence & Specialty Awards

Food Service, Carol Altman – Ritter Elementary

Clerical, Ashby Collazo – Cleveland Elementary

Specialists (School Counselor), Dr. Susan Fuller – Muhlenberg Elementary

Paraprofessional, Lauren Kot – Union Terrace Elementary

Administrator (SOI), Jamie Nattress – South Mountain Middle School

Security Officer, William Nieves – Jackson Early Childhood Center

Custodial/Maintenance, Ernesto Rosado – Ritter Elementary

Outreach & Engagement, Russell “Rooster” Valentini – Community & Student Services

Nurse, Jennifer Williams – William Penn/Alternative Education

Elementary Principal – Tiffany Polek, Mosser Elementary

Secondary Principal – Kathleen Gill, Secondary Newcomer Academy

Presentation of Empowerment Awards

Elementary Empowerment Award - Alejandra Gomez Cleto, Grade 4, Ramos Elementary

Middle School Empowerment Award - Marializ Vargas, Grade 7, Raub Middle School

High School Empowerment Award - Afaf Assaf, Grade 12, Dieruff High School

Staff Empowerment Award - Abby Jarrah, South Mountain Middle School